top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureG Ray

Baby It's Cold Outside!

Updated: Dec 11, 2018

The song "Baby It's Cold Outside" was written in 1944, but only became a hit song in the movie "Neptune's Daughter" in 1949. Now in 2018, radio stations are banning the song as the lyrics are translated loosely into the man with intentions of violating the woman in the song. What they fail to "read into" the lyrics, is that the woman of the song really wants to stay the night as much as the man wants her to stay the night. In 1944, it was socially unacceptable for an unmarried woman to stay the night with an unmarried man. She repeatedly is concerned about what the people close to her would say. The man replies in the song that they have a good excuse because they are looking to be snowed-in. It's still a favorite song this time of the year. The claims of these radio stations are ludicrous and they err on the side of caution in these days of political correctness.




Hear it from a DJ

Prior to the controversy, I ordered this shirt to wear for the season. The song is a fun song and a tradition I won't let go. I considered the controversy because as a DJ, I want to avoid offending. But, can I wear the shirt? It's super cute!


Public Response

I posted this picture on Social Media and it exploded! Every time I received a notification, beep or buzz on my phone I was ready to get slammed by the offended with negativity. Quite opposite is what happened. Folks love the shirt and wanted to know where to buy one too! Some sarcasm was absolutely funny, but it also triggered the Facebook police to warn me about community standards.


Thanks!

Your support keeps me going! Thank you so much for following on social media. Click that like button, share the post and keep coming to the events. I love seeing your faces and laughing at my jokes! See you in the funnies.



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page